AT A NEWS CONFERENCE HELD ON Wednesday, January 11th, on behalf of the Jury, composed of John English, Ann MacMillan, and Colin McAdam, Mr. McAdam announced five finalists for the 2017 RBC Taylor Prize, selected from 12 books named to the longlist on November 30, 2016. The five finalists are:
• Max Eisen (Toronto, ON) for By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz, published by HarperCollins Canada
• Matti Friedman (Jerusalem) for Pumpkinflowers: An Israeli Soldier’s Story, published by Signal / McClelland & Stewart
• Ross King (Oxford, England) for Mad Enchantment: Claude Monet and the Painting of Water Lilies, published by Bond Street Books
• Marc Raboy (Montreal, QC) for Marconi: The Man Who Networked the World, published by Oxford University Press
• Diane Schoemperlen (Kingston, ON) for This Is Not My Life: A Memoir of Love, Prison, and Other Complications, published by HarperCollins Canada
    Meet all five finalists at two public events prior to the announcement of the winner: A free roundtable Discussion on Thursday, March 2nd at 7:00 pm in the Atrium of the Toronto Reference Library (more information at this link) and don't miss the annual Ben McNally/The Globe and Mail Authors Brunch on Sunday, March 5th at 10:00 am (tickets: www.benmcnallybooks.com). All finalists will be supported with extensive national publicity and promotional support to help each of their books stand out in the national media and book retailers and libraries across the country.
    This marks the sixteenth awarding of The RBC Taylor Prize, which consists of $25,000 and a crystal trophy for the winning author and $2,000 for each of the remaining finalists. The winner of this year's prize will be announced at a gala luncheon and awards ceremony at the historic Omni King Edward Hotel in downtown Toronto on Monday, March 6th.
    Sharing a commitment to emerging Canadian talent, The Charles Taylor Foundation and RBC will also grant the fourth annual
RBC TAYLOR PRIZE EMERGING WRITERS AWARD. Shortly after the March 6th announcement of the 2017 Prize winner, he or she will name their choice of emerging author to receive the $10,000 award.